This Is the Language My Family Doesn’t Speak

Say “sister” softly as I say “brother’ kindly: this would conjure family. You’ve left the red woman and I’m joining with a blue man – we have so little in common. And if there was a single cell between us, no cell of silence, no resentful, smiling, persecuting cell at all, but a cell of loyalty and confidence; if we had one portable secret between us and still kept all our own secrets; if there was an impotent language we spoke instead of the combative one our mouths use to lead our bodies, you’d call me “sister” softly and I’d speak “brother” kindly, you would call me and I’d speak kindly, you would call and I would speak, you would and I would you would I would you.

Leave a Reply

